jump to navigation

AFI Best Movie Quotes April 25, 2011

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was looking for a quotation from Casablanca, and I ran across this article in Wikipedia. I enjoyed it so much, I decided to post it here for you to enjoy, too. It is the American Film Institute’s 100 Years – 100 Movie Quotes.

Quotation number
Quotation
Character
Actor/Actress
Film
Year

1 “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.”
Rhett Butler
Clark Gable
Gone with the Wind
1939

2 “I’m going to make him an offer he can’t refuse.”
Don Vito Corleone
Marlon Brando
The Godfather
1972

3 “You don’t understand! I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I could’ve been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am.”
Terry Malloy
Marlon Brando
On the Waterfront
1954

4 “Toto, I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”
Dorothy Gale
Judy Garland
The Wizard of Oz
1939

5 “Here’s looking at you, kid.”
Rick Blaine
Humphrey Bogart
Casablanca
1942

6 “Go ahead, make my day”
Harry Callahan
Clint Eastwood
Sudden Impact
1983

7 “All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.”
Norma Desmond
Gloria Swanson
Sunset Boulevard
1950

8 “May the Force be with you.”
Han Solo
Harrison Ford
Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope
1977

9 “Fasten your seatbelts. It’s going to be a bumpy night.”
Margo Channing
Bette Davis
All About Eve
1950

10 “You talkin’ to me?”
Travis Bickle
Robert De Niro
Taxi Driver
1976

11 “What we’ve got here is (a) failure to communicate.”
Captain
Strother Martin
Cool Hand Luke
1967

12 “I love the smell of napalm in the morning!”
Lt. Col. Bill Kilgore
Robert Duvall
Apocalypse Now
1979

13 “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”
Jennifer Cavilleri Barrett
Ali MacGraw
Love Story
1970

14 “The stuff that dreams are made of.”
Sam Spade
Humphrey Bogart
The Maltese Falcon
1941

15 “E.T. phone home.”
E.T.
Pat Welsh
E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
1982

16 “They call me Mister Tibbs!”
Virgil Tibbs
Sidney Poitier
In the Heat of the Night
1967

17 “Rosebud.”
Charles Foster Kane
Orson Welles
Citizen Kane
1941

18 “Made it, Ma! Top of the world!”
Arthur “Cody” Jarrett
James Cagney
White Heat
1949

19 “I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!”
Howard Beale
Peter Finch
Network
1976

20 “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”
Rick Blaine
Humphrey Bogart
Casablanca
1942

21 “A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.”
Hannibal Lecter
Anthony Hopkins
The Silence of the Lambs
1991

22 “Bond. James Bond.”
James Bond
Sean Connery
Dr. No
1962

23 “There’s no place like home.”
Dorothy Gale
Judy Garland
The Wizard of Oz
1939

24 “I am big! It’s the pictures that got small.”
Norma Desmond
Gloria Swanson
Sunset Boulevard
1950

25 “Show me the money!” Rod Tidwell
Cuba Gooding, Jr.
Jerry Maguire
1996

26 “Why don’t you come up sometime and see me?”
Lady Lou
Mae West
She Done Him Wrong
1933

27 “I’m walking here! I’m walking here!”
“Ratso” Rizzo
Dustin Hoffman
Midnight Cowboy
1969

28 “Play it, Sam. Play ‘As Time Goes By.'”
Ilsa Lund
Ingrid Bergman
Casablanca
1942

29 “You can’t handle the truth!” Col. Nathan R. Jessep
Jack Nicholson
A Few Good Men
1992

30 “I want to be alone.”
Grusinskaya
Greta Garbo
Grand Hotel
1932

31 “After all, tomorrow is another day!”
Scarlett O’Hara
Vivien Leigh
Gone with the Wind
1939

32 “Round up the usual suspects.”
Capt. Louis Renault
Claude Rains
Casablanca
1942

33 “I’ll have what she’s having.”
Customer
Estelle Reiner
When Harry Met Sally…
1989

34 “You know how to whistle, don’t you, Steve? You just put your lips together and blow.”
Marie “Slim” Browning
Lauren Bacall
To Have and Have Not
1944

35 “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.”
Martin Brody
Roy Scheider
Jaws
1975

36 “Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!”
“Gold Hat”
Alfonso Bedoya
The Treasure of the Sierra Madre
1948

37 “I’ll be back.”
The Terminator
Arnold Schwarzenegger
The Terminator
1984

38 “Today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth.”
Lou Gehrig
Gary Cooper
The Pride of the Yankees
1942

39 “If you build it, he will come.”[14]
Shoeless Joe Jackson
Ray Liotta(voice)
Field of Dreams
1989

40 “Mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”
Forrest Gump
Tom Hanks
Forrest Gump
1994

41 “We rob banks.”
Clyde Barrow
Warren Beatty
Bonnie and Clyde
1967

42 “Plastics.”
Mr. Maguire
Walter Brooke
The Graduate
1967

43 “We’ll always have Paris.”
Rick Blaine
Humphrey Bogart
Casablanca
1942

44 “I see dead people.”
Cole Sear
Haley Joel Osment
The Sixth Sense
1999

45 “Stella! Hey, Stella!”
Stanley Kowalski
Marlon Brando
A Streetcar Named Desire
1951

46 “Oh, Jerry, don’t let’s ask for the moon. We have the stars.”
Charlotte Vale
Bette Davis
Now, Voyager
1942

47 “Shane. Shane. Come back!”
Joey Starrett
Brandon De Wilde
Shane
1953

48 “Well, nobody’s perfect.”
Osgood Fielding III
Joe E. Brown
Some Like It Hot
1959

49 “It’s alive! It’s alive!”
Henry Frankenstein
Colin Clive
Frankenstein
1931

50 “Houston, we have a problem.”
Jim Lovell
Tom Hanks
Apollo 13
1995

51 “You’ve got to ask yourself one question: ‘Do I feel lucky?’ Well, do ya, punk?:
Harry Callahan
Clint Eastwood
Dirty Harry
1971

52 “You had me at ‘hello.'”
Dorothy Boyd
Renée Zellweger
Jerry Maguire
1996

53 “One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I don’t know.”
Capt. Geoffrey T. Spaulding
Groucho Marx
Animal Crackers
1930

54 “There’s no crying in baseball!”
Jimmy Dugan
Tom Hanks
A League of Their Own
1992

55 “La-dee-da, la-dee-da.”
Annie Hall
Diane Keaton
Annie Hall
1977

56 “A boy’s best friend is his mother.”
Norman Bates
Anthony Perkins
Psycho
1960

57 “Greed, for lack of a better word, is good.”
Gordon Gekko
Michael Douglas
Wall Street
1987

58 “Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer.”
Michael Corleone
Al Pacino
The Godfather Part II
1974

59 “As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again.”
Scarlett O’Hara
Vivien Leigh
Gone with the Wind
1939

60 “Well, here’s another nice mess you’ve gotten me into!”
Oliver
Oliver Hardy
Sons of the Desert
1933

61 “Say ‘hello’ to my little friend!”
Tony Montana
Al Pacino
Scarface
1983

62 “What a dump.”
Rosa Moline
Bette Davis
Beyond the Forest
1949

63 “Mrs. Robinson, you’re trying to seduce me… Aren’t you?”
Benjamin Braddock
Dustin Hoffman
The Graduate
1967

64 “Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!” President Merkin Muffley
Peter Sellers
Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb
1964

65 “Elementary, my dear Watson.”
Sherlock Holmes
Basil Rathbone
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
1939

66 “Get your stinking paws off me, you damned dirty ape!” George Taylor
Charlton Heston
Planet of the Apes
1968

67 “Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine.”
Rick Blaine
Humphrey Bogart
Casablanca
1942

68 “Here’s Johnny!”
Jack Torrance
Jack Nicholson
The Shining
1980

69 “They’re here!”
Carol Anne Freeling
Heather O’Rourke
Poltergeist
1982

70 “Is it safe?”
Dr. Christian Szell
Laurence Olivier
Marathon Man
1976

71 “Wait a minute, wait a minute. You ain’t heard nothin’ yet!”
Jakie Rabinowitz/Jack Robin
Al Jolson
The Jazz Singer
1927

72 “No wire hangers, ever!”
Joan Crawford
Faye Dunaway
Mommie Dearest
1981

73 “Mother of mercy, is this the end of Rico?”
Cesare Enrico “Rico” Bandello
Edward G. Robinson
Little Caesar
1930

74 “Forget it, Jake, it’s Chinatown.”
Lawrence Walsh
Joe Mantell
Chinatown
1974

75 “I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.”
Blanche DuBois
Vivien Leigh
A Streetcar Named Desire
1951

76 “Hasta la vista, baby.”
The Terminator
Arnold Schwarzenegger
Terminator 2: Judgment Day
1991

77 “Soylent Green is people!”
Det. Robert Thorn
Charlton Heston
Soylent Green
1973

78 “Open the pod bay doors, HAL.”
Dave Bowman
Keir Dullea
2001: A Space Odyssey
1968

79 Striker: “Surely you can’t be serious?!”
Rumack: “I am serious… and don’t call me Shirley.”
Ted Striker and Dr. Rumack Robert Hays and Leslie Nielsen
Airplane!
1980

80 “Yo, Adrian!”
Rocky Balboa
Sylvester Stallone
Rocky
1976

81 “Hello gorgeous.”
Fanny Brice
Barbra Streisand
Funny Girl
1968

82 “Toga! Toga!”
John “Bluto” Blutarsky
John Belushi
National Lampoon’s Animal House
1978

83 “Listen to them. Children of the night. What music they make.”
Count Dracula
Bela Lugosi
Dracula
1931

84 “Oh, no, it wasn’t the airplanes. It was Beauty killed the Beast.”[27]
Carl Denham
Robert Armstrong
King Kong
1933

85 “My precious.”
Gollum
Andy Serkis
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
2002

86 “Attica! Attica!”
Sonny Wortzik
Al Pacino
Dog Day Afternoon
1975

87 “Sawyer, you’re going out a youngster, but you’ve got to come back a star!”
Julian Marsh
Warner Baxter
42nd Street
1933

88 “Listen to me, mister. You’re my knight in shining armor. Don’t you forget it. You’re going to get back on that horse, and I’m going to be right behind you, holding on tight, and away we’re gonna go, go, go!”
Ethel Thayer
Katharine Hepburn
On Golden Pond
1981

89 “Tell ’em to go out there with all they got and win just one for The Gipper.”
Knute Rockne
Pat O’Brien
Knute Rockne, All American
1940

90 “A martini. Shaken, not stirred.”
James Bond
Sean Connery
Goldfinger
1964

91 “Who’s on First?”
Dexter
Bud Abbott
The Naughty Nineties
1945

92 “Cinderella story. Outta nowhere. A former greenskeeper, now, about to become the Masters champion. It looks like a mirac…It’s in the hole! It’s in the hole! It’s in the hole!”
Carl Spackler
Bill Murray
Caddyshack
1980

93 “Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death!”
Mame Dennis
Rosalind Russell
Auntie Mame
1958

94 “I feel the need—the need for speed!”
Lt. Pete “Maverick” Mitchell and Lt. Nick “Goose” Bradshaw
Tom Cruise and Anthony Edwards
Top Gun
1986

95 “Carpe diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary.”
John Keating
Robin Williams
Dead Poets Society
1989

96 “Snap out of it!”
Loretta Castorini
Cher
Moonstruck
1987

97 “My mother thanks you. My father thanks you. My sister thanks you. And I thank you.”
George M. Cohan
James Cagney
Yankee Doodle Dandy
1942

98 “Nobody puts ‘Baby’ in a corner.”
Johnny Castle
Patrick Swayze
Dirty Dancing
1987

99 “I’ll get you, my pretty, and your little dog too!”
Wicked Witch of the West
Margaret Hamilton
The Wizard of Oz
1939

100 “I’m king of the world!”
Jack Dawson
Leonardo DiCaprio
Titanic
1997

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

