jump to navigation

I Take It Back; At Least the Title March 30, 2011

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

A friend of mine told me about a trip he and his wife are planning, to see her family in Lincoln, NE. In fact, they have a condo there to make these trips more convenient, as well as a home in Florida where they live.

Some time ago, I wrote an article with the title, “At Least the Wooly Mammoth Liked Nebraska.” It now strikes me as too disparaging. A LOT of folks like Nebraska, including the wooly mammoth. Maybe that would have been a better title.

My friend brought back some great memories when he spoke about Lincoln, NE. I worked there doing pharmaceutical consulting with a big name international drug maker for almost a year. Great company, and really great, down-to-earth people.

We (the doggie Lacy and I) stayed at Campaway RV Resort, 1st Street and Superior. It’s at the intersection of I-80 and I-180. The campground is very well equipped, and really nice people run it. It’s close to everything. That’s west of Lincoln, and my client is on the northeast side, so I had a 20 minute commute.

I went to church at North American Martyrs Catholic Church, 1000 Isaac Drive. In Lent and in Advent they sponsored continual adoration of the Blessed Sacrament, and the pastor gave me the combination to the door lock so I could get in at 3:00 am. It was great! The Lincoln diocese is very active in Pro-Life and Anti-Abortion stuff, so I fit right in.

I had notes to get tickets for a musical and other events at Lied Performing Arts and the Pinewood Bowl, but I got waylaid on other things and didn’t get to either place.

The validation group manager had a Christmas buffet at his house for eight of us, and it was nice to be included. He lives in Lincoln in a house built in the 1940’s. In fact, it could have been built on Chicago’s north side and trucked on down to Lincoln. Later, I hosted the group at a great restaurant (I ate there once to check it out, and then I got three couples there as my guests). It’s LJK’s in the Haymarket train station, and I will go there again!

So, Lincoln is one of my favorite places, and I discovered it by taking a consulting contract there. I hope to go back someday. Some summer day.

line

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

