jump to navigation

Capital Punishment January 19, 2011

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

I used to subscribe to satellite TV and satellite internet, so I could connect from my trailer wherever I am, but the service was poor and the prices were high, so I haven’t been connected for about two years now. Instead, I connect the PC via WIFI, and I watch DVDs as I eat dinner, and occasionally on weekend afternoons, when it is loneliest.

I find some good DVDs at Wal-Mart. They sell old DVDs in a $5 bin in every electronics department in their Supercenters. I picked up three the other day, which don’t seem that old to me. They are among my favorites: The Green Mile with Tom Hanks and many other excellent actors; Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid; and Galaxy Quest. I have the last one recorded on my DVD, but it has become a favorite (a parody on Star Trek and William Shatner), and I don’t want to lose it by a mistaken button press.

I only recently realized that my strong anti-abortion belief was only half of the issue. Being pro-life must mean being against any human imposed termination of life, including euthanasia and execution. I have not become anti-war, because of the kill-or-be-killed concept, but I have not finished working that out yet. It is now clear to me (maybe 45 years since I became anti-abortion) that capital punishment is as wrong now as it was when the occupied Israelis and the Roman Italians executed Jesus Christ.

I was surprised that Steven King found a measure of sensitivity and empathy that belies his reputation to write The Green Mile. I always cry through the second half of the movie, and now I will find the book to read it – usually a more powerful experience for me. My favorites of his writing are the Gunslinger series, but I think that The Green Mile may elbow its way in there.

If you haven’t seen the movie recently, I know where you can find it – cheap!

line

Comments»

1. gregquill - January 21, 2011

Sandy,

I don’t think of Stephen Hayes’s sentence as execution, because that implies putting a human being to death. He and Joshua Komisarjevsky (if it’s proven JK is as guilty as SH) have earned extermination, so those animals cannot destroy another family. In truth, I LIKE animals, so even that is a misnomer for those vermin.

Conflict in your soul, and mine, on this subject is very good. These are not decisions to be made lightly, I think. And thank you for your very accurate artist’s argument for art.

Conversations with you always enrich me! Thanks, Sandy!

2. gregquill - January 23, 2011

In the 37 years since Roe v. Wade, according to NRLC, 52,000,000 babies have been killed in the U.S.

According to Answers.com, “Estimates range from about 50-70 million killed in World War II. The Wikipedia article “World War II Casualties” favours the relatively high figure of 72 million. Of these, 61 million were on the Allied side and 11 million were on the Axis side. The article gives a figure of 23 million dead for the Soviet Union and 20 million for China. These figures of course include civilian dead. (Note that the figure for China was recently revised sharply upwards from earlier estimates of about 11 million).

For Germany the overall total is given as just under 7.4 million.

Jesus wept at Lazarus’s tomb. He is surely weeping now, too.


Leave a Reply

