jump to navigation

Captain Holly Graf, USN, Unemployed March 15, 2010

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

Perhaps you have read about the firing of the Commanding Officer of USS Cowpens, a cruiser stationed in Yokosuka, Japan. Captain Holly Graf was relieved early for cruelty and assault on crew members and officers, and for using her position for financial gain.

I have some experience in this area, since I was a Commanding Officer of a ship in the U.S. Navy. The difference: I had six years experience before command to Holly’s 22; but I knew what to do and therefore I enjoyed it.

I found this note on a blog, about Holly, from an anonymous Navy Captain: January 19, 2010 1:42 PM
Anonymous said…
“I know CAPT Graf (not well, but have had direct professional dealings with her), and have had command of a DDG and CG, as well as two post major shore commands. She is and always has been an incompetent boob. Fortunately, I am senior to her, so she was and is zero threat to me. I know people, good people who have served under her, and she is, by all accounts, also a supremely incompetent tyrant.

“I hit a whale while in command of a CG, and the only trouble I got in for it was sending pictures of it to my buddy, who was CINCPACFLT’s EA without sending them to my boss first. “Trouble” in this case was a mild admonishment from the CSG COS. Of course we sent the Unit Sitrep out, we had done nothing wrong. Trying to cover something like this up is a sure sign of someone who is totally insecure in their position and more importantly, in their professional ability. Her biggest fear was being required to answer questions about the whale strike, which sounds funny if it was not so pathetic.”

I pause to consider. A polygraph is a gadget which alarms when a person is lying.

Maybe a hollygraf is a gadget which alarms to distract everyone from the incompetence of the commanding officer. By screaming, ranting, abusing, and attacking.

I am relieved that she has been relieved.


line

Comments»

1. Bob - March 17, 2010

Geez, almost reminds me of our fearless leader in O’CALLAHAN. Sure never seemed to have much of a sense of humor; definitely a hard man to work for.
Bob

2. gregquill - March 18, 2010

Ooo, you bring back sad memories! Ya know, some people I never miss anymore!

3. gregquill - March 21, 2010

The financial gain charge was specious: she told one junior officer to play the piano at her party; and she had two others walk her dogs. The Navy can be pretty rigid in that way.

4. Susan Katz Keating - May 24, 2010

She ran her own ship soft aground, and choked a junior officer. That was the proverbial straw breaking the camel’s back, after a long history of abusive behavior.

gregquill - May 26, 2010

Soft or hard aground makes no difference in the Navy. She was a martinet defending her incompetence with rants and rage. I am relieved that she was relieved, but not soon enough.

5. Susan Katz Keating - August 21, 2010

Sadly, she remains on active duty. She is at Dahlgren, VA. Rumor has it she is supposed to face a retention board. I await proff that the Navy actually is DOING something about her.

6. Bob - August 21, 2010

Well, we just fired another CO this week:
http://www.stripes.com/news/pacific/uss-peleliu-commander-fired-under-suspicion-for-improper-relationships-with-crew-1.114817

We have been averaging more than 1 fired CO/mo for the past 4 or 5 years. Makes me start to wonder about the selection/weeding out process. Used to be that not everyone got selected to Department Head School; fewer were selected for XO & even fewer for Command. No one gets turned down now for Dept Hd school, but I think it would still be a lot tougher in today’s Navy to select for CO/XO with far fewer opportunities than before. Makes me wonder if the best and brightest are clearing the selection process, or if too many PC & quota fillers are taking up valuable slots.
Just wondering.


Leave a Reply

