jump to navigation

It’s Fixed January 4, 2010

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

It was unbearably cold in the trailer the past week. Wind chills have been minus 15 F.

The heat kept cutting out, I thought, because the 12 volt installed $360 charger, four years old, was cutting out and not fully charging the 12 volt automobile batteries I installed. I put in two to replace one, because I needed the extra power to run the furnace all day long on 12 volts. Cutting out. So I bought a $66 microprocessor controlled charger and held it in standby.

I was right!

Saturday night, January 2, Lacy and I spent the night under the covers. I mean, heads completely covered by the covers, trying to keep in enough heat to sleep. Sunday morning, I disconnected the installed charger from the batteries, and from its 120 volt AC power, and I temporarily wired the new charger to the batteries and I plugged it in. It read the new batteries as having a 9.2 volt charge (instead of the 12 volts or more required), and it showed them to be 32% ready instead of 100%. I turned it to “CHARGE”, and as it began charging the batteries to 13.5 volts, the heat came on in the trailer!

With a few hiccups – tripping off as it approached 100% – it ran and charged all day, and the furnace also ran all day. It’s 1.1 degrees F now outside, and I just kicked off the covers at midnight – it’s too hot in here!

To celebrate, I bought and started running a humidifier. With all of this heat, Lacy and I need help for our sinuses!

Back in business!


line

Comments»

1. Bob - January 5, 2010

Man o man, I can’t even imagine that kind of cold! We are enjoying some great weather for the new year. On New Year’s Day, we took our 57 Bel Air out for a drive with some Chevy friends through the back country. It was sunny, 75* and beautiful.
All the best to you, Greg, in the new year. I hope it will be a good one for you.
Bob

2. Brenda Love - January 6, 2010

The humidifier will work wonders. I’ve been using one this year. STAY WARM!


Leave a Reply

