jump to navigation

Updates, and St. Francis January 1, 2010

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

It might be fun to write a “wrap up 2009 / start 2010” piece, so here goes.

It’s zero degrees here near Rockford, IL, where Lacy and I are camped out. With the wind, it’s -15 °F. That puts a strain on the repaired propane heating system, because the longer the furnace runs, the weaker become the two new 12 volt car batteries which are running the furnace. I have a temporary replacement battery charger which I can put in, disconnecting the original one; but the original now seems to work, though it can’t keep up with this rapid draining of the batteries, as the furnace runs all of the time to combat the cold. I have plugged some air leaks in the trailer (a window which didn’t close tightly, a gap under the outside door, gaps where the slide out rooms are supposed to seal – none bad enough to admit rainwater, but all of these add up when we are trying to keep in heat.) In fact, I’ve noticed an improvement already. I’m also running the heat 10 °F cooler in the trailer, which gives more off time for the furnace and more charging time for the batteries. So, I am wearing a hooded sweater around now and to bed (hood down), so it works.

Today is the most peaceful January 1st in years. Usually, I am roasting a 14# prime standing rib roast, and making Yorkshire pudding, green bean casserole, twice baked potatoes and apple pie, but since I am now on the road and the family is doing their own thing in various other states, I am relaxing! I roasted the beef on the morning of Christmas Eve, and took it to my Aunt’s for dinner, where it was well received (and well consumed) by 12 hungry relatives who also had some great leftovers with that and with the pork roast she made.

I got my repaired Toshiba laptop back after about three weeks in the shop. It’s my spare for the HP Pavilion, and it suffered a meltdown when the cooling fan stopped. It works now.

I am applying for a student loan to go back to school in a dual masters degree program. I’ll let you know if it works out. The trick now is to find the Navy form DD-214 which I got on leaving the Navy in 1978, which will make me eligible for a partial scholarship.

Here’s a favorite of mine, which we sang in church this morning. January 1st is now very nicely the holy day of the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God. For a while, it was the feast of the Holy Family; and before that (shudder) the feast of the Circumcision of our Lord. (Only dotty old senile cardinals and bishops would force people to go to Mass to celebrate something like that! Do NOT get me started on what they refer to as the Holy Prepuce. If you are compelled, Google it. But after dinner, not before.)

St. Francis of Assisi (1182 – 1226) is known as the patron saint of animals. A kindly monk, he composed a prayer of his own, which has come to us as a beautiful hymn. To start the new year, I thought that you might like to read it, clip it, and pray it from time to time. It will be our little secret; no one needs to know! Except you, and the One you choose to pray it to! Please enjoy it:

Prayer of St. Francis

Make me a channel of Your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me bring Your love.
Where there’s injury, Your pardon, Lord.
And where there’s doubt, true faith in You.

Make me a channel of Your peace.
Where there’s despair in life, let me bring hope.
Where there is darkness, only light.
And where there’s sadness, ever joy.

O Master grant that I may never seek
So much to be consoled as to console.
To be understood as to understand.
To be loved as to love with all my soul.

Make me a channel of Your peace.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned.
In giving of ourselves that we receive.
And in dying that we’re born to eternal life.

Happy New Year, everyone!


line

Comments»

1. gregquill - January 2, 2010

Happy New Year, Sandy! Friends like you deserve the best, because you make it so nice for the rest of us!

2. The Prayer of St. Francis « Hasty Ruminations - March 3, 2011

[…] am delighted that so many liked my post about the Prayer of St. Francis! Here is a good recording of the […]


Leave a Reply

