jump to navigation

Good News, Bad News October 1, 2009

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

OK, so this is a good news – bad news thing.

The good news? I finally got a job. It took only 13 weeks, excessive borrowing from my family, and living in Wal-Mart parking lots in Big Easy, my 5th wheel trailer, for two and a half months.

My unemployment pay started last week, with a second weekly payment yesterday. That enabled me to wire transfer a few hundred dollars to my very generous son John, who was overly generous last week and I decided that I could help him out. For a change.

The drive from Pennsylvania to North Carolina for a job was stopped in Virginia when the job was delayed two months by the client. The drive from Virginia to Rockford IL for the new job took only two days.

I arrived in Rockford on Wednesday. I have four days to find a reasonable RV campground before starting work on Monday.

The new boss wants to meet me for lunch on Thursday. I am parked at a Wal-Mart one mile from the client, next door to Applebee’s. How convenient… and I don’t have to try to find a lunchtime parking place for Big Easy.

The bad news? Well, I exaggerated. There IS no bad news!


line

Comments»

1. gregquill - October 2, 2009

Hi, Sandy. No, I had to tell them that the delay wasn’t something I could absorb financially, and so I went with the Rockford firm instead.

2. Jim Q. - October 5, 2009

What happened to the job you were going to after you left WI? I knew nothing about this unfortunate calamity.

3. gregquill - October 5, 2009

Jim, there was no other job; the contract was canceled in Wisconsin. You can see the details by reading back in the blog, starting on July 28th and reading from there to October 2009.


Leave a Reply

