jump to navigation

Fixing a Pizza September 1, 2009

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

I bought a pizza at the truck stop where I go once a week near Carlisle, PA. I go there because they offer a free dump station for my waste water, and free fresh water (and it’s beautiful, clear, tasteless fresh water!) to fill my tanks, and decent prices on diesel (for the truck) and gasoline (for the generators). And they allow me to “park” overnight for free on a single night basis.

The pizza was superb, and I had a slice a day for about a week, storing the pizza in my drop-in freezer.

I went without for a couple of weeks (to save money), but I bought another one last week. Not so good; a different chef, maybe. Dryer, not as much sauce, the cheese had no flavor, but the crust and the pepperoni were just as good as the first one.

Reluctant to throw it out, and not willing to eat it as it was, I went to the grocery part of Wal*Mart, and bought a jar of Great Value Pizza Sauce, and a small ball of fresh mozzarella. I sliced the cheese and spread some of it over two slices of the pizza; and I spooned on about a quarter of the small jar of sauce over both pieces. I heated the slices in the microwave for 3-1/2 minutes, and they were much improved. (Lacy agreed; if you see a yellow Lab with pizza sauce all around her snout, that’s Lacy!)

Next time, I’ll use the gas fired oven to reheat the slices, and I’ll add a slice of provolone to the mozarella.


line

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

