jump to navigation

Big Changes August 29, 2009

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, I’ve made some big changes.

Job offers are not exactly flowing in, so being a month and a half behind on the rent of the house in North Carolina, I called an estate sales place, I sold everything in the house to them for a lump sum pittance, and they carted it all away last week. The whole transaction took two days.

The real estate company was shocked that I was unwilling or unable to just turn over a couple of thousand dollars for the back rent. I think they’ve decided not to pursue the matter with their lawyers, since I am now out of the house. The thought of having spent all of that rent money to house old furniture and stuff that has little or no market value for years makes me sick, but I feel huge relief now.

I should also close on the sale of my timeshare in Orlando in the next two weeks. I am taking a shellacing on that, too, in this economy. Those things don’t appreciate like real estate. While it was paid for, I also had to pay over $700 a year for maintenance, on a place no one used. No more of that, either.

Of course, the big plus is NO MORE RENT for a place I hardly used as a residence. That’s equivalent to about 15% raise! Put another way: the rent cost me $10 for every hour I worked.

I’ve been living full time in the trailer for about five years anyway. Now, it’s official.


“Free at last, free at last… God Lawd A’mighty, I’m free at last!”

line

Comments»

1. gregquill - August 30, 2009

Thanks, Sandy. They will, eventually. Good luck on selective trimming!

2. ishi - September 1, 2009

i wish you all the best

gregquill - September 2, 2009

Thank you, Ishi. Everyone has been so kind!


Leave a Reply

