jump to navigation

Dear Moms: May 14, 2008

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is an episode from my trip to EPCOT which I wrote to a friend, who suggested it belongs on the blog:

At “Soarin'”, I had a long wait for my FastPass time (a way to reserve your ride time to avoid hours of in-line waiting). A lady about 29 years old came in with her 4 year old son. They were waiting for the rest of the family to return. There were no seats for two, so she sat on the floor, and he began crawling all over her, nuzzling her neck and doing things that 4-year-old boys do at 8:00 pm on a long, long day at Epcot. But he was giggling and very happy. She nuzzled back. She turned him face down on her lap, and stroked his back. She used her fingernails to scratch his back through his shirt, and then under his shirt; and he squirmed in the shear pleasure of it. She sat him on her lap, with his back to her chest, reached around, and grasped his opposite hands in hers, and hugged him tightly. It was touching, and holding, and Mom-and-son closeness.

I couldn’t ignore it any longer. I walked the ten paces to them, and when she looked up, I asked her if she was his mother. She said yes, and I said, “I was going to wish you a Happy Mother’s Day, but I don’t have to, because you are already having one!” She smiled back, and said, “Oh, you’re going to make me cry now.” I said, “Me, too”, and I meant it. Then, I said, “We had four children, and I suggest that you never stop the touching and the holding, as long as you’re together. It’s very important.” She smiled and said, “Thank you, sir!” and she grasped my hand and squeezed it hard.

It occurred to me then that they could have been my Mom with me, or my friend with her daughter, and I would not have been surprised at all!

Dear Moms: Happy belated Mother’s Day!

Comments»

1. gregquill - May 14, 2008
2. Brenda Love - May 14, 2008

This made tears come to my eye. Greg, it is good that you take the time to compliment others on the good things you see in them.

3. gregquill - May 15, 2008

Thanks, Brenda – and Happy Mother’s Day!

4. gregquill - May 17, 2008

Brenda and Sandy, you are both too kind. The young mother and her son (whose name is Beau) did all of the work; I just enjoyed watching it!


Leave a Reply

