jump to navigation

Anniversary March 14, 2008

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

Successful people in Alcoholics Anonymous don’t brag about their sobriety to get praise. We do it to help others stay sober.

In February 1978, in a Navy Officer’s Club in Korea, I put down a half-full scotch-and-water, said “That’s it”, and I walked back to my ship.

Actually, it wasn’t “it”.  It was just the beginning of a long road back. It entailed a lot of things. And it continues today. I thank my Higher Power (in my case, God) that I have not had a drink since then.

Thirty years?  In a small sense.  In a bigger sense, one day at a time, for a large number of days, all kind of strung together.

Comments»

1. kenju - March 15, 2008

Bravo! I know of 2 other people on the blog circuit who are in AA. Good for you!


Leave a Reply

