jump to navigation

Tribute April 20, 2007

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback


A good friend and an excellent writer, Wordnerd (read her great stuff at http://doihavetocallitablog.blogspot.com/) passed on a suggestion about a a day without blogging for the victims of the monster at Virginia Tech. I usually go along with these things, but I had just watched the sick video which NBC mistakenly (in my mind) released onto the world, and I took a different tack.

Here are my thoughts:



Silence isolates me to myself. Prayer out loud draws us together.


Silence is when the monsters come. A joyful din is how we celebrate life.

Silence is what the monster imposed on 32 people. “We are Virginia Tech!!” is what their classmates shouted to the rafters.

Silence is the way the monster spent 23 dark years. “Out loud” is the way the rest of us live.

Silence seems to pay tribute to the monster. Three minutes of holding hands at 9:40 am (or whenever it started) and singing Amazing Grace followed by the Lord’s Prayer seems to be better. Some Kaddish, some Islam too.

Just IMHO.

Comments»

1. kenju - April 20, 2007

Very good, Greg. A thoughtful post and an idea that merits doing.

2. Stew - April 20, 2007

I must be channeling Ann Coulter because I keep disagreeing with you.

The day of silence is not to glorify the killer nor is it to remember the deaths. It’s a simple matter of expressing the grief or feelings that one experiences during something as horrible as the Va Tech shooting.

As for me, I’ll be doing what I normally do on Sunday, speaking, and shouting and making lots and lots of noise and enjoying life. My blog, however, will have a day of silence.

Ann Coulter says “hi” by the way.

3. Brenda - April 20, 2007

I haven’t seen a video Greg, what happened with that? I’ll go check CNN.

Is it Sunday that the blog thing is supposed to happen? I don’t know what the right thing to do is…any kind of response or non-response just seems trivial. I just keep thinking, what can I do to make a difference.

4. Greg Finnegan - April 21, 2007

Brenda, DON’T go look at the video. It’s the one the monster gave to NBC, of him being macho.

Non-response is right. How does silence “express” anything?! The right thing to do? For me, it’s condemning monsters and commemorating the innocent dead.

5. Greg Finnegan - April 21, 2007

Great ideas, Sandy. As Brenda was saying, we need to get something positive out of this. Saying that there are 32 more angels in heaven just comes up a little short, I think.


Leave a Reply

