jump to navigation

On The Road Again June 22, 2011

Posted by gregquill in Uncategorized.
trackback

OK, I tried the retirement thing. Since November 2010, I have been “retired” at my place in Florida, and it has been fine. Social Security isn’t much, and my small investments have had to bridge serious shortages. But Lacy and I have really relaxed. Now it is time to go back to work, and really pack some money away for the future. Now that I have honed some economizing skills, I’m confident that I will succeed.

I have accepted a consulting engineering job with a $17B healthcare branch of a major company for at least 6 months, using my knowledge of FDA protocols and regulations. The job site is in Denver, CO. Last year in Wyoming, now Colorado. If this is a trend, I am going to have to expand my Western wear closet!

The four weeks of interviews, background checks, drug tests, writing samples (!), references and all sorts of paperwork got accelerated last night, when the company said “Yeah, okay, everyone continue your due diligence, but we need Greg to start work July 6th!” Since it’s a 32 hour drive with the Big Ride truck and the Big Easy fifth wheel trailer, I am starting to break camp now and planning to start the drive on July 1st.

Lacy the doggie is already packed, and very excited, too.

line

Comments»

1. Bob - June 22, 2011

Hey Greg,
Maybe our sea lanes will cross once again. We are heading for Breckenridge, CO in early August and will be there 3-7 August for the Vettes on the Rockies show. Maybe we can hook up for a short visit before Liz & I continue on north to Wyoming, Montana, Calgary, and then west to Vancouver before heading home via hwy 1.

gregquill - June 22, 2011

Great idea, Bob! Breckenridge is only 85 miles west of Englewood where I will be working. I can drive Big Ride there easily. Ford F350 7.3l dually. (Hope I don’t scare the ‘Vettes.)

And yes, your spelling shows that your one-tracked mind hasn’t changed!

I’ve put 3-7 August on my calendar.

-Greg

2. Bob - June 22, 2011

Forgot to mention, CONGRATS on the new job. Glad, as I’m sure your Pres is, that you are lowering the national unemployment statitistics.

Drive safe…

3. Bob - June 22, 2011

hmmm, like how I spell statistics?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.